Is Ice Cream Gluten Free?
Many people ask me this question, is ice cream gluten free? Well the answer is yes and no. It depends on what is used to make it. So on these hot summer days, you are probably wondering which ice creams are gluten free. So I looked into premade gluten free ice creams that you can buy at a store as well as homemade gluten free ice cream recipes.
What Kinds of Ice Cream Are Gluten Free
So I did some research and found out the following ice creams are mostly gluten free:
- Haagen Daz Ice Cream
- Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream
- Dreyer’s Ice Cream
- Some store brand ice creams
It is important to note that ice cream itself is gluten free, but when you begin to add flavors that has wheat or other gluten components it will make the ice cream have gluten in it. Usually the items that consist of cookies, graham crackers, brownies, etc. will have gluten in them. So make sure to stay away of ice creams that consist of those ingredients.
Homemade Gluten Free Ice Cream Recipes
Another option to buying premade gluten free ice cream is to make your own. I still have fond memories of my grandfather making homemade ice cream on a hot summer afternoon. It was creamy and delicious, especially the awesome raspberry-lime ice cream he used to make. After the past couple of hot summer days, I have been thinking about homemade ice cream, but wanted to figure a way to make it gluten free. Here are a few more websites that provide recipes on how to make homemade gluten free ice cream:
So the next time you have a craving and are looking for a gluten free ice cream to help you cool off, know that you have options. You can purchase them at the grocery store or make them yourself. Either way it will delicious.
Related posts (score):
Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!